White apartment blocks around a pool, palms behind them

What no one tells you before buying in Sultan Haitham City

What to check before buying in Sultan Haitham City.

  • 10 min read

Sultan Haitham City is the largest thing on our books by a distance: 27 of the 61 homes Alwalaa represents are here. It is also the one where the brochure and the record diverge most, because most of what is for sale has not been built. This is what our own 27 listings say, and — more usefully — what they do not.

Every figure below is computed from those 27 listings at the moment you load the page. There is no market average here, no forecast and no developer projection. Where a listing states nothing, it is counted as stating nothing.

What the 27 listings actually are

10 apartments, 5 villas, 4 duplexes, 3 penthouses, 3 studios, 2 townhouses — a spread no other community on our books comes close to. Asking prices run from OMR 44,363 to OMR 506,077: at one end a studio at OMR 44,363, at the other a 676 m² penthouse at OMR 506,077. They share a postcode and the same title terms.

That range is the point. Freehold in Oman had always been coastal and aimed at second-home buyers. This is the first designated development at the scale of an actual city, priced for people who intend to live in it, and the stock reflects a city rather than a resort.

“Sultan Haitham City” is not one market

The city is arranged as named neighbourhoods rather than towers on a corniche, and they do not price alike. If somebody quotes you “the price at Sultan Haitham City”, the first question is which district.

Alwalaa listings in Sultan Haitham City, by district
DistrictHomesOff-planAsking price, OMR
Hay Al Wafa8862,110 – 242,882
Hay Wadi Zaha7749,875 – 345,549
Yenaier Residence4452,647 – 506,077
No district named8044,363 – 234,650

The last row is the one worth staring at. 8 of the 27 listings record no neighbourhood below the city itself: the field that names Hay Al Wafa and Hay Wadi Zaha on the rows above repeats the city name. Those homes are somewhere specific. Our record simply does not say where, and we would rather print that than pick a plausible district for it.

Now read the off-plan column. Every home in a named district is off-plan, and not one of the homes without a district is. The two facts travel together in our records: the neighbourhood is written down for the drawings and left off the finished stock. If a listing here names its district, assume you are buying a plan until somebody tells you otherwise in writing.

Most of what you can buy is a drawing

19 of the 27 listings are off-plan. Most of what you can buy here today is a drawing and a delivery date.

The whole list breaks down as 19 off-plan, 7 ready to move, 1 status not stated. Off-plan dominates because the city is still in its first delivery phases; completed stock reaches the market in small tranches and moves quickly. One listing states no build stage at all, which we show as “status not stated” rather than guessing at one.

Buying off-plan is not a defect. It is a different transaction, and the two documents that describe it are the unit drawing and the developer’s current payment schedule. Ask for both, by unit, before you compare two prices per square metre.

Here is the part a brochure will not put in front of you. 2 of the 27 listings state a delivery expectation at all, and they do not state it in the same terms:

  • “Expected delivery: within approx. 3 years from booking (subject to developer schedule)”
  • “Expected handover: December 2027”

We quote those exactly as the developer wrote them and we do not convert them into dates, because not all of them are dates. For the other 25 listings we hold no stated handover at all. Get one in writing, per unit, before you exchange anything.

What the listings do not say

These are gaps in our own records, published as gaps. They are the questions to put to us in an email, and they are the reason a spreadsheet built from portal listings will mislead you.

  • 9 of the 27 publish no internal area. A price per square metre can therefore be worked out for 18 of them and not for the rest. Comparing the two groups on “value” is arithmetic performed on a blank.
  • The finished stock is the least documented stock. All 7 ready-to-move homes here publish no area. The homes you could walk through this week are the ones our records describe least precisely — so walk through them, and take the tape measure.
  • 7 state no bathroom count. Bedrooms are recorded on every listing; bathrooms are not.
  • 17 of the 27 carry the developer’s own reference code. That code is what lets us tie your enquiry to one specific unit rather than to a type. Where a listing has none, ask us to get one before you talk about price.

The six questions to ask before you sign

None of these are clever. All of them are things our own data cannot answer for you, which is exactly why they are worth asking out loud.

  1. Which district, precisely? 3 named districts appear in the current stock and they price differently. The city name is not an answer.
  2. What is the stated handover for this unit, in writing? Not for the phase. For the unit.
  3. What is the current payment schedule? It is set by the developer and it changes. The one in a PDF from last year is not the one you will sign.
  4. What is the internal area, and is it the drawn area? Ask for the drawing, not the figure.
  5. What is the service charge, and who sets it? Service charges are set by each community and are separate from anything to do with residency.
  6. Is the photograph a render? For off-plan units it generally is. Where a home is ready to move we will arrange a viewing rather than rely on a render.

Freehold title here can also make a buyer eligible to apply for residency. Eligibility is decided by the Royal Oman Police, not by the developer and not by us, and it is tied to your continued ownership of the property — what that does and does not mean is set out here.

See all 27 homes we list in Sultan Haitham City

Figures on this page are computed from the 27 Sultan Haitham City listings inside Alwalaa’s 61 live listings, and change as the list changes. Prices are the developer’s or owner’s asking prices in Omani rials and are indicative. Nothing here is investment, tax or legal advice.

Contents

Talk it through

A person from the Muscat office, sunday to thursday, 10am – 5pm.

Request a call